72 Comments

Funny...but I’m stunned the audience actually laughed. Maybe there’s hope after all?

Wait...could it have been a “laugh track”...?

Expand full comment
founding

Barely scraping the surface. I used to love Saturday night live. Even dressed up one year as the more cowbell guy to a costume party. Every one hated me be the end of the night. I gave them as much cowbell as possible

Expand full comment

Read the top YouTube comments.

Most of them enjoyed this for all the wrong reasons. If this were a miniseries, they would watch it: and not for self-reflection or for some much needed self-deprecating humor.

Expand full comment
founding

SNL should have done a skit on the guy just convicted by a Brooklyn jury for putting out a meme that you could avoid the voting line and text in your vote for Hillary. Felony punishable by up to 10 years in jail. No understanding of satire on that jury of his peers! Could have had a jury bustin' with laughter at the meme being flashed up, and then voting "guilty". Not very funny, however.

Expand full comment

Well, hm, . . .

I'm a bit speechless actually. I won't say that was funny, but that's because it was pretty much on target.

Expand full comment

SNL hasn't been the least bit funny in what? Two decades? That was worth two minutes of my time! Hahaha 😎

Expand full comment
founding

I wouldn't have watched it were it not suggested by you, Sasha - and while entertaining, I couldn't help but think there are probably some who desperately want it to be so...

Expand full comment

I agree, Sasha, they could have gone further - like inviting Trump on as part of the spoof; I think he would've rode with it. He let Kimmel feel his hair for godsakes.

I get the feeling they feel extremely constrained and that is too bad. Trump would be totally okay with irony against him and SNL management just refuses to break free of the wrong TDS. Too bad, there is some talent there.

Expand full comment

wow I have not watched this show in years. This clip brought back the common sense and funny feeling of 20 years ago. At least we know many people on both political sides are not totally asleep when SNL starts being actually funny.

Expand full comment

My experience is that those on the left are not cursed by self-awareness. They are blithely unaware of their prejudices.

That's the context I view any applause or laughter to that skit. 'Haha, you're parodying our team by presenting a circumstance that is far, far from a true depiction of the way good liberals truly feel.' It's funny from that perspective.

No part of SNL writers, actors or audience views that skit as a mirror, not even a funhouse mirror. Ends justifies the means, always. Orange man bad. No self-reflection required.

Just my two cents.

Expand full comment

I still feel like they are mocking the Trump voters somehow in the skit. I will never watch them again, and many other shows on TV unless they would do a full on 180 with a mea culpa and I'm not holding my breath. The thing about SNL, for example, someone like Sasha might not have noticed, but SNL has been hugely biased since Obama was president. I remember stop watching them 10 years ago because they literally portrayed Obama as Superman and the Republicans as the devil. And the issues they differed from back then were adult issues that people had legitimate differences' of opinions on! Since 2016 they just went full flame-on like everyone else. I remember telling my sister I was done watching them back then because of the blatant liberal lean, and my sister said "Oh, they make fun of Obama too." I said to her give me an example, and she never did. I googled searched for an SNL skit that actually criticized or made fun of Obama (back then Google was not as biased and edited) I searched YouTube for a skit, and came up empty. The entertainment industry has been not funny since at least 2014 or sooner. Many of the people who noticed it circa 2016 or 2018 just noticed the huge dumpster fire without noticing the smoke and stink burning years earlier. It was just a controlled burn back then, and it was someone else's fire and didn't burn them.

Expand full comment

The first few seconds had promise but then the clip became a long excuse to blame him. Sad, not funny.

Expand full comment

Damn. That was funny. How unlike them.

Expand full comment

I'm pretty sure SNL's audience makes Fox News' audience look young.

Expand full comment

Check out the Babylon Bee skits on YT. Also Freedom Toons by Seamus O'Coughlin. Those are funny.

Expand full comment

There has always been an appetite for this and most people would love it. The real question is “why did they finally decide to ignore the bullies?”

Expand full comment

heh.. Molly Shannon should've had Alec Baldwin on and they could have talked about how shwetty trumps balls must be

Expand full comment

Oh my.. I haven’t watched SNL in 40 years. This bit was actually funny.

Expand full comment

loved it. I remember the Not Ready for Prime Time Players. You just can't go back, you can NEVER go back!

Expand full comment

Video is blocked in my country, Morocco. That is telling!

Expand full comment

That is brilliant

Expand full comment

The laughs were tepid. Obedient leftists always look to their right and left to see if they are allowed to think independently. But this was great. I haven't watched SNL since the mid-eighties because it's so unintresting, but this was really pretty good.

Expand full comment

Totally awesome! Thanks for sharing.

Expand full comment

Hahaha! Thanks for posting that!

Expand full comment
Apr 11, 2023·edited Apr 12, 2023

Thank you for bringing it to our attention. I thought that it was quite cute. I also enjoyed the SNL cold open of Trump joining Jesus at the Last Supper.

Expand full comment

Reality with just enough satire ... Ha!

Expand full comment

Wow. That's actually hard believe.

Expand full comment

The lack of self-awareness is stunning. This fictional product could have just as easily been called S-zen-L.

Expand full comment

I am not here for the struggle!! Our last exchange showed me that for now, you’ll only ever engage with your narcissistic simulacrum of me.

Despite all that I read your stuff faithfully. And boy that death of comedy piece had me really wondering if you’d purchased some new shit colored glasses. So good on you for being brave enough to see that skit as a counterpoint and sharing it instead of ignoring it. The bit was funny, and on the mark. Like good comedy it actually made people nervous!

Expand full comment

Lol. Leftist liberal elites poking fun at themselves = your thesis destroyed.

Expand full comment